Skip to main content



Once a pioneer settlement, Barberville was established in 1882 by James D. Barber. Today, Barberville is located at the crossroads of Highway 17 and Route 40. It is best known for its annual fall festival, which celebrates Florida history and pioneer heritage with folk arts and crafts, entertainment and exhibits.


A small unincorporated community located in Volusia County, Cassadaga is known for its psychics and mediums, and has consequently been named the “Psychic Capital of the World.” The Cassadaga Spiritualist Camp was founded by George P. Colby in 1894 and declared a U.S. Historic District in 1991.


Located in Volusia County on the northern shore of the St. Johns River, the City of DeBary serves as the corridor between Orlando, Sanford and Daytona Beach. With a population of less than 20,000, DeBary has a small-town atmosphere and is known as the “City of Volunteers” with many of its citizens serving with philanthropic organizations.


Named for its founder Henry Addison DeLand in 1876, DeLand is located in west Volusia County and recognized for its award-winning Main Street by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The campus of Stetson University, which is Florida’s oldest private college, is located in DeLand’s National Historic District. DeLand was voted “Central Florida’s Other Best Downtown” in 2013.

De Leon Springs

De Leon Springs boasts a rich history, including ancient tribes living near these springs as far back as approximately 6,000 years ago. The springs became a winter resort in the 1800s, with tourists promised “a fountain of youth impregnated with a deliciously healthy combination of soda and sulphur.” DeLeon Springs flows into the Lake Woodruff National Wildlife Refuge and is home to De Leon Springs State Park and the Old Spanish Sugar Mill Grill & Griddle House restaurant.


Located approximately halfway between Orlando and DaytonaBeach, Deltona was originally founded by the Mackle brothers in 1962 as a master-planned retirement community. Deltona became a city in 1995 and, with a population of almost 90,000, quickly surpassed Daytona as Volusia County’s largest municipality.


Situated on the north shore of Lake Monroe, Enterprise was once home to the most famous hotel in the state, the Brock House. Guests included presidents Ulysses S. Grant and Grover Cleveland, U.S. generals and visitors from overseas. Today, Enterprise is designated as an “area of special concern” historic district by Volusia County government.


Glenwood is a small community situated between DeLand and Deleon Springs, its picturesque main street (Grand Ave.) is part of the River of Lakes Heritage Corridor’s scenic byway. The sleepy little community is home to horse farms, growers, and wildlife. Its most noted public building is probably its tiny, old-timey post office.


Maytown was once a burgeoning center for the cypress and turpentine industries with a busy railroad stop and junction in the 1800s. Maytown today is an unincorporated community east of Osteen and is the home of the 59,000-acre “Farmton tract” or the “Farmton Tree Farm.” Hickory Bluff Preserve provides nature lovers an unspoiled tract for hiking along the St. Johns River. Bikers love the country ride on a two-lane road straight to the east coast.

Lake Helen

Known as “The Gem of Florida,” Lake Helen was founded by Henry DeLand in 1888 and named after his daughter. Residents of this small Volusia County city – spanning just under 5 square miles – are said to be proud of its well-preserved Victorian architecture.

Oak Hill

Oak Hill is the southernmost city in Volusia County and can be found on a map of a French cartographer dating back to 1564. After several changes of hands, the city was established in 1927, dissolved in 1930 and revitalized in 1962. The following year, Clarence Goodrich became mayor and his term spanned an impressive 26 years.

Orange City

Orange City, incorporated in 1882, was named for the thousands of acres of orange groves planted in and around the city. Orange City was home to Volusia County’s first public school in 1878. Waterworks began supplying water to residents’ homes in 1895. Orange City water was subsequently shipped worldwide and won an award at the St. Louis World’s Fair for its excellence.


As part of southwestern Volusia County, Osteen was originally settled by cattle rancher Hezekiah Ellis Osteen and his wife Susannah Gaskins Osteen in the 1800s. Now an unincorporated community, Osteen is reminiscent of historical Florida with nature trails, parks and reserves.


The Town of Pierson is a small rural community in Northwest Volusia County, Florida. Known as the “Fern Capital of the World”, Pierson strives to provide a large abundance of small town charm.


As the largest city in Seminole County, Sanford is home to approximately 50,000 residents and is known as Central Florida’s waterfront gateway because of its position as the head of navigation at the St. Johns River. Sanford’s namesake, Henry Sanford, was a Connecticut lawyer who was President Abraham Lincoln’s first diplomatic appointment.


Located in northwest Volusia County, Seville was founded in 1882 by William Kemble Lente, a railway executive hoping to take advantage of the Jacksonville, Tampa & Key West Railroad. Today, Seville is an unincorporated rural community with a population of less than 700.

For local stories  from the corridorClick Here